The Junior League of Raleigh has been honored to host the N.C. Governor’s Inaugural Ball for more than eight decades.

With strong commitment from its trained volunteers, the women’s organization has proudly planned and presented the historic event since 1933, when N.C. Gov. J. C. Ehringhaus took office.

Today, with nearly 1,600 members, the League is well underway with the coordination of the 2017 N.C. Governor’s Inaugural Ball that will take place on Saturday, January 7. This grand event will mark the 21st Inaugural Ball that the League has put on.


Past N.C. Governor’s Inaugural Balls hosted by the League and the Junior League of Raleigh chairs:

Election Year

Elected Governor

Inaugural Ball Hosts

1933 Governor John Christopher Ehringhaus Mrs. George Ross Pou
1937 Governor Clyde Roark Hoey Mrs. John Park Jr.
1941 Governor Joseph Melville Broughton Mrs. Roland Mumford
1945 Governor Robert Gregg Cherry Mr. Godrey Cheshire (American Legion)
1949 Governor William Kerr Scott

Miss Frances Thompson

Mayne Albright

Mr. Godfrey Cheshire (American Legion)

1953 Governor Williams Bradley Umstead

Mrs. Henry D. Haywood

Mr. Godfrey Cheshire (American Legion)

1957 Governor Luther Hartwell Hodges

Mrs. Godfrey (Sis) Cheshire Jr.

Mr. Armistead Maupin (American Legion)

1961 Governor Terry Sanford

Mrs. Victor E. (Jane) Bell Jr.

Mr. Clifton Beckwith (American Legion)

1965 Governor Daniel Killian Moore

Mrs. Lee C. (Adele) Smith

Mrs. William W. (Nell) Dodge III

Mr. Clifton Beckwith (American Legion)

1969 Governor Robert W. Scott

Mrs. Charles Allen (Juliette) Newcomb

Mrs. Earl (Margery) Johnson Jr.

Mr. James W. Dixon (American Legion)

Mr. Duma I. Bledsoe (American Legion)

 1973  Governor James Eubert Holshouser Jr.

Mrs. Bob C. (Jane) Rogers

Mrs. Charles M. (Flo) Winston

 1977  Governor James Baxter Hunt Jr.

Mrs. B. Robert (Eve) Williamson

Dr. Larry Wheeler (N.C. Symphony)

 1981  Governor James Baxter Hunt Jr.

Mrs. Thomas W. (Mary Mac) Bradshaw Jr.

Mrs. William W. (Nell) Dodge III

Mrs. Lucius W. (Jane) Pullen

Dr. Banks C. Talley Jr.

 1985  Governor James Grubs Martin

Mrs. William C. (Carole) Anders

Mrs. Henry S. (Sara Jo) Manning Jr.

 1989  Governor James Grubs Martin

Mrs. Lawrence (Clare) Maddison

Ms. James A. (Adria) Walker

1993 Governor James Baxter Hunt Jr.

Ms. Denise Evelyn Parks

Mrs. R. Lynn (Carol) Wiggs

1997 Governor James Baxter Hunt Jr.

Mrs. William (Kathy) Teague

Mrs. Sam (Jane) Worley

Mrs. John (Walker) Mabe

Mrs. James (Beth) Betts

2001 Governor Michael F. Easley

Ms. Sarah Wesley Fox

Mrs. Robert (Mary Brent) Wright

Mrs. Wilson (Jennie) Hayman

Ms. Danita Morgan

2005 Governor Michael F. Easley

Mrs. Kenneth (Linda Brown) Douglas

Mrs. Keith (Graham) Satisky

Mrs. John (Nancy) Andrews

Mrs. Glenn (Dorothea) Bitler

2009 Governor Beverly E. Perdue

Mrs. Bryan (Rhonda) Beatty

Mrs. Joel (Virginia) Parker

Mrs. Thomas (Carol) Wagoner

Mrs. John (Pat) Wilkins

 2013 Governor Patrick L. McCrory

Shayla Bradshaw

Emily Funderburk

Liza Roney

Virginia Yopp


Agency names in parentheses indicate the Inaugural Ball chair (1945) and co-chairs for other years.